19 February 2010

Eragon’s Guide to Alagaesia

by Christopher Paolini

Random House. Children’s Non-fiction. Hardcover rrp $45.00

Based on the best-selling Inheritance Cycle series of books (Eragon, Eldest and Brisingr), this hard-cover lift-the-flap, look-in-the-pocket seek-out-the-facts book is a must have for all dragon and fantasy lovers. Whether they are Eragon fans or not.

Alagaesia is the fantasy world where the Inheritance Cycle is set. It is a place of elves, humans, urgals, dwarves and dragons. The book contains maps, descriptions of plants, animals, history and culture. You can touch a dragon wing or learn a new language (dwarfish looked a bit tricky but Elvish seemed easier!).

The key attraction of this book is the wonderful pictures and proliferation of information presented in interesting ways. Every page has something to run fingers over, take from a pocket or look beneath. There is texture, colour and an enormous amount of visual detail.

Eragon’s Guide to Alagaesia will fascinate any fantasy reader and appeal to children who like interactive non-fiction.

No comments:

Post a Comment